Binghamton University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Binghamton University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$80,596
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
82%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$21,620
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,500
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
134numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Meng
Last Name:Chen
Title:Director
Office:Institutional Research
Address Line 1:Couper Administration Building Room 306
Zipcode13,850
Country:United States
Phone:607-777-6938
Email Address:mchen36@binghamton.edu
City:Binghamton
StateNew York
Street Address Line 1:P.O. Box 6000
CityBinghamton, NY 13902-6000
State4400 Vestal Parkway East
ZipBinghamton, NY 13902
Country:United States
WWW Home Page Address:www.binghamton.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):607
Admissions Phone Number:777-2171
Admissions Email Address:admit@binghamton.edu
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.binghamton.edu/diversity-equity-inclusion/index.html
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1412 | 1676 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 69 | 41 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 5149 | 5739 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 6630 | 7456 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 89% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 49,519 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 18,683 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied41,838
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted13,160
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied5,918
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted4,448
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied1,763
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted1,075
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 39 | 1210 |
| ACT | 9 | 263 |
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.90
Application closing date (fall): Month4
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2031 | 2029 | 0 | 4060 |
| Admitted | 852 | 880 | 0 | 1732 |
| Enrolled | 414 | 392 | 0 | 806 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)14%
Percent of males who join fraternities15%
Percent of females who join sororities20%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing86%
Percent who live off campus or commute14%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent of males who join fraternities16%
Percent of females who join sororities16%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing40%
Percent who live off campus or commute61%
Percent of students age 25 and older2%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.suny.edu/howmuch/netpricecalculator.xhtml?id=2&embed=n&headerUrl=http://www.binghamton.edu/npc/logo.pn
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 7070 | 7070 |
| Tuition: in-state | 7070 | 7070 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 26160.00 | 26160.00 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 3293.00 | 3293.00 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 17556.00 | 17556.00 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000.00 | 1000.00 | 1000.00 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1000.00 | 1000.00 | 1000.00 |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$25,941,163
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,394,709
Total Scholarships/Grants$71,161,885
Federal Work-Study$940,716
Total Self-Help$5,585,374
Parent Loans$11,913,346
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$10,069,446
Federal$0
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,215,780
Total Scholarships/Grants$12,537,532
Parent Loans$5,585,374
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$6,507,870
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,515
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$846,395
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 2.86% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.07% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.41% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 8.77% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.37% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.22% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 3.16% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.03% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 21.23% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.89% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.38% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.45% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.69% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.69% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 12.68% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.25% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 5.25% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 13.56% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.79% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.