Berklee College of Music
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Berklee College of Music — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 15, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$33,647
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
67%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$49,465
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$25,000
federal loans only
FSA
14%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
369numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.berklee.edu/diversity/center-diversity-equity-and-inclusion
DiplomaX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7608 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 8448 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 498 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 207 | 955 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 86 | 452 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 558 | 2944 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 12 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 82 | 438 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 7 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 55 | 346 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 14 | 92 | Not reported |
| Total | 1502 | 662 | 392 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 176 | 286 | 719 | 1181 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 176 | 286 | 719 | 1181 |
| Completed in less than four years | 82 | 140 | 371 | 593 |
| Completed in less than five years | 23 | 39 | 107 | 169 |
| Completed in less than six years | 6 | 71932 | 23 | 33 |
| Total completers | 111 | 186 | 497 | 794 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 63% | 65% | 69% | 67% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 150 | 255 | 721 | 1126 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 150 | 255 | 720 | 1125 |
| Completed in less than four years | 66 | 139 | 406 | 611 |
| Completed in less than five years | 13 | 24 | 80 | 117 |
| Completed in less than six years | 5 | 5 | 23 | 33 |
| Total completers | 84 | 168 | 509 | 761 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 56% | 66% | 71% | 68% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
2 TABLESDoes your institution have an application fee?Yes
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Can on-line application fee be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:500
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 626 | 501 | 1 | 1128 |
| Admitted | 389 | 273 | 0 | 662 |
| Enrolled | 230 | 162 | 0 | 392 |
FallX
SpringX
SummerX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Berklee College of Music CDS 2023-2024 11
Fall Closing Date: Month11
Spring Closing Date: Month7
Fall Notification Date: Month1
Spring Notification Date: Month9
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Spring Notification Date: Day15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:60
American Council on Education (ACE)No
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Number24
Unit Typecredit
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:Berklee College of Music CDS 2023-2024 13
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Other (specify):X
Arts/fine artsX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)90%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing68%
Percent who live off campus or commute32%
Percent of students age 25 and older5%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)88%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing20%
Percent who live off campus or commute80%
Percent of students age 25 and older17%
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19.5
Average age of full-time students20.8
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22.7
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
Drama/theaterX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Student governmentX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Coed residence hallsX
Theme housingX
Living Learning CommunitiesX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.berklee.edu/paying-for-your-education/net-price-calculator
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 50540 | 50540 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1500 | 1500 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 19930 | 19930 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
12 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 559 | 2347 | 89 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 19502 | 19183 | 12700 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$6,739,409
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$48,110,411
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$867,085
Total Scholarships/Grants$55,890,363
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$23,076,030
Federal Work-Study$1,612,000
Total Self-Help$24,688,030
Parent Loans$12,029,611
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$48,166,431
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,137,268
Total Scholarships/Grants$49,303,699
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$12,342,909
Total Self-Help$12,342,909
Parent Loans$9,839,355
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1396 | 6024 | 1486 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 773 | 2790 | 706 |
| Determined to have financial need | 569 | 2240 | 583 |
| Awarded any aid | 554 | 2200 | 553 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 209 | 877 | 369 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 397 | 1673 | 455 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 429 | 1708 | 116 |
| Need fully met | 66 | 229 | 14 |
| Average percentage of need met | 44 | 49 | 38 |
| Average financial aid package | 31186.11 | 33259.86 | 8992.56 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 6206.96 | 6366.92 | 3531.31 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3983.02 | 5088.00 | 4294.46 |
| Average need-based loan | 4413.36 | 4203.80 | 20 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.2,023
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 381 | 37 | 43407 |
| Federal loan programs | 36 | 21980 | 21 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 122 | 12 | 69077 |
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:1,312
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$19,016
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$24,948,932
FAFSAX
CSS ProfileX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month12
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AcademicsX
Music/dramaX
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 378 | 933 | 1311 |
| Members of minority groups | 90 | 199 | 289 |
| Females | 126 | 360 | 486 |
| Males | 252 | 573 | 825 |
| Nonresidents | 1 | 36 | 37 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Bachelor's degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 378 | 933 | 1311 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio9.52
based on ____ students6,559
and ____ faculty689
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 1573 | 0 |
| 10-19 students | 1573 | 0 |
| 20-29 students | 1730 | 0 |
| 30-39 students | 338 | 0 |
| 40-49 students | 64 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 9 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 4 | 0 |
| Total | 3 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 11.3% | Not reported | 27.6% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 1.9% | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | 9.4% | Not reported | 13.5% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 77.4% | Not reported | 55.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | 0.0% | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 0% | 100% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.