Arkansas State University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Arkansas State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Aug 15, 2024. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$42,617
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
55%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$12,366
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,500
federal loans only
FSA
13%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
529numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESLast Name:Research Analyst
Title:Institutional Effectiveness
Zipcodehttps://www.astate.edu/a/irp/
Name of College/University:Arkansas State University
CertificateYes
AssociateYes
Bachelor'sYes
Postbachelor's certificateYes
Master'sYes
Post-master's certificateYes
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipYes
Doctoral degree – professional practiceYes
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 598 | 907 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 221 | 200 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1,375 | 1,978 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 2,194 | 3,085 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 14 | 17 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 2,208 | 3,102 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 57 | 98 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 110 | 161 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 666 | 1,622 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 833 | 1,881 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 308 | 427 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 1,141 | 2,308 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 3349 | 5410 | 1 | Not reported | 8,760 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 82 | 170 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 100 | 208 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 182 | 378 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 438 | 966 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 943 | 2,342 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 5 | 18 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 1,386 | 3,326 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 5,272 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 14,032 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 155 | 624 | 654 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 107 | 395 | 430 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 194 | 1,117 | 1,151 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1,074 | 5,273 | 5,834 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 4 | 23 | 24 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 13 | 75 | 100 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 5 | 5 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 99 | 415 | 463 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 13 | 67 | 99 |
| Total | 1,660 | 7,994 | 8,760 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 147 |
| Associate degrees | 610 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1,763 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 114 |
| Master's degrees | 1,672 |
| Post-master's certificates | 497 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 21 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 57 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 567 | 195 | 617 | 1,379 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 567 | 195 | 617 | 1,379 |
| Completed in less than four years | 180 | 63 | 316 | 559 |
| Completed in less than five years | 51 | 26 | 58 | 135 |
| Completed in less than six years | 13 | 8 | 14 | 35 |
| Total completers | 244 | 97 | 388 | 729 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 43.0% | 49.7% | 62.9% | 52.9% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 3,605 | 3,628 | 8 | Not reported | 7,241 |
| Admitted | 2,183 | 2,511 | 4 | Not reported | 4,698 |
| Enrolled full-time | 599 | 907 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 57 | 99 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,662 |
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted2,847
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled2,471
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied1,236
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted935
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled582
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied271
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted3,459
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled1,645
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who applied155
Total academic units14
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Social studies1
History2
Foreign language2
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | — | Yes |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | — | Yes |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
Entrance Exams
SAT or ACTRequired
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 3.4 | Not reported |
| ACT | 85.6 | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,000 | Not reported | 1,170 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 510 | Not reported | 590 |
| SAT math | 520 | Not reported | 590 |
| ACT composite | 19 | Not reported | 25 |
| ACT math | 17 | Not reported | 25 |
| ACT English | 19 | Not reported | 27 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 20 | Not reported | 25 |
| ACT Reading | 21 | Not reported | 28 |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8005.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69917.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59953.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49921.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3991.9
SAT Math: 700-8003.8
SAT Math: 600-69918.9
SAT Math: 500-59962.3
SAT Math: 400-49911.3
SAT Math: 300-3993.8
SAT Composite: 1400-16003.5
SAT Composite: 1200-139914.0
SAT Composite: 1000-119959.6
SAT Composite: 800-99919.3
SAT Composite: 600-7993.5
ACT Composite: 30-365.7
ACT Composite: 24-2929.7
ACT Composite: 18-2349.2
ACT Composite: 12-1715.1
ACT Composite: 6-110.2
ACT English: 30-363.9
ACT English: 24-2930.8
ACT English: 18-2339.5
ACT English: 12-1725.7
ACT English: 6-110.1
ACT English: Below 60.1
ACT Math: 30-3615.1
ACT Math: 24-2927.4
ACT Math: 18-2341.8
ACT Math: 12-1712.7
ACT Math: 6-113.0
ACT Science: 30-368.6
ACT Science: 24-2932.8
ACT Science: 18-2349.4
ACT Science: 12-178.6
ACT Science: 6-110.4
ACT Science: Below 60.1
ACT Reading: 30-3621.0
ACT Reading: 24-2927.7
ACT Reading: 18-2341.1
ACT Reading: 12-179.6
ACT Reading: 6-110.6
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.59
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.3
Yes, on a rolling basis:Considered
No set DateYes
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 745 | 1,478 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | 2,223 | 473 | 936 | Not reported |
| Enrolled | Not reported | 1,409 | 297 | 529 |
Total826
FallYes
High school transcriptRecommended for Some
College transcript(s)Required
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresRecommended for Some
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Recommended for Some
If a minimum high school grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.50
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
Number13
Unit TypeR
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programYes
Distance learningYes
Double majorYes
Dual enrollmentYes
English as a Second Language (ESL)Yes
Exchange student program (domestic)Yes
Honors ProgramYes
Independent studyYes
InternshipsYes
Study abroadYes
Teacher certification programYes
Arts/fine artsYes
English (including composition)Yes
HistoryYes
HumanitiesYes
MathematicsYes
PhilosophyYes
Sciences (biological or physical)Yes
Social scienceYes
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)18%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing70%
Percent who live off campus or commute30%
Percent of students age 25 and older2%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)17%
Percent of males who join fraternities8%
Percent of females who join sororities9%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing33%
Percent who live off campus or commute67%
Percent of students age 25 and older22%
Average age of full-time students18.3
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.6
Average age of full-time students20.3
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)23.4
Campus MinistriesYes
Choral groupsYes
Concert bandYes
DanceYes
Drama/theaterYes
International Student OrganizationYes
Jazz bandYes
Marching bandYes
Model UNYes
Music ensemblesYes
Musical theaterYes
OperaYes
Pep bandYes
Radio stationYes
Student governmentYes
Student newspaperYes
Symphony orchestraYes
Television stationYes
YearbookYes
Apartments for married studentsYes
Apartments for single studentsYes
Special housing for international studentsYes
Fraternity/sorority housingYes
Theme housingYes
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.astate.edu/a/finaid/tuition-fees/net-price-calculator/index.dot
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $7,176 | $7,176 |
| Tuition: in-state | $7,176 | $7,176 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $13,248 | $13,248 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | $578 | $578 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $11,100 | $11,100 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum12
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $1,250 | $1,250 | $1,250 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | $6,122 | $7,788 | $7,788 |
In-state (out-of-district):$299
Out-of-state:$299
NONRESIDENTS:$552
NONRESIDENTS:$552
Financial Aid
10 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 260 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $5,061 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 270 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | $5,143 | Not reported | Not reported |
FederalYes
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$15,811,423
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,298,229
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$17,109,652
Federal Work-Study$10,432,774
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$504,980
Parent Loans$10,937,754
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$3,772
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$9,962,144
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$15,312,013
Total Scholarships/Grants$1,472,217
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$26,750,146
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$13,524,520
Parent Loans$13,524,520
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$3,085,208
Athletic Awards$8,161,978
Athletic Awards$4,624,837
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1,115 | 4,144 | 1,751 |
| Determined to have financial need | 794 | 3,133 | 1,569 |
| Awarded any aid | 790 | 3,092 | 1,486 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 570 | 2,047 | 1,030 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 536 | 1,823 | 1,041 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 638 | 2,170 | 222 |
| Need fully met | 674 | 2,657 | 1,468 |
| Average percentage of need met | 93% | 94% | 98% |
| Average financial aid package | $5,707 | $6,889 | $8,376 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $6,856 | $5,875 | $4,677 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $4,410 | $4,304 | $3,967 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,111 | $3,886 | $3,936 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.968
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 523 | 54% | $25,874 |
| Federal loan programs | 520 | 54% | $24,319 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 47 | 5% | $18,861 |
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableYes
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:334
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$7,063
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$2,359,231
FAFSAYes
Institution's own financial aid formYes
Federal Direct Subsidized Stafford LoansYes
Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford LoansYes
Federal Direct PLUS LoansYes
Federal Pell GrantsYes
Federal SEOGYes
State scholarships/grantsYes
Private scholarshipsYes
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsYes
AcademicsYes
Alumni affiliationYes
ArtYes
AthleticsYes
ROTCYes
LeadershipYes
Music/dramaYes
State/district residencyYes
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 515 | 179 | 694 |
| Members of minority groups | 125 | 24 | 149 |
| Females | 280 | 121 | 401 |
| Males | 235 | 58 | 293 |
| Nonresidents | 20 | 3 | 23 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 360 | 68 | 428 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 142 | 82 | 224 |
| Bachelor's degree | 5 | 20 | 25 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 8 | 9 | 17 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 81 | 26 | 107 |
based on ____ students8,591
and ____ faculty573
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 432 | 35 |
| 10-19 students | 345 | 29 |
| 20-29 students | 337 | 27 |
| 30-39 students | 107 | 21 |
| 40-49 students | 43 | 1 |
| 50-99 students | 34 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 5 | Not reported |
| Total | 1,303 | 113 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 4.3% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | 32.2% | Not reported | 5.4% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 8.7% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 1.3% | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 2.0% | 71.5% | 9.9% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0.7% | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | 2.0% | Not reported | 9.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | 0.2% | 0.6% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.4% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 18.8% | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Health professions and related programs | 30.2% | 28.4% | 17.5% |
| Business/marketing | 12.8% | Not reported | 16.5% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100% | 100% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.