Arkansas State University

2021-22

The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Arkansas State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 5, 2023. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2021-22 template isn't published yet.

First-year admissions & retention§C1 · §B22 →
Accept rate§C1
63.3%
3,693 of 5,835
Yield§C1
35.2%
1,301 enrolled
Applications§C1
5,835
Admitted§C1
3,693
Enrolled§C1
1,301
Retention§B22
74.7%
Full-time 1st-yr
Enrolled score bands (25th–75th percentile)§C9 →
SAT 25–75§C9
1010–1170
3% SUB
SAT EBRW§C9
500–590
25TH–75TH
SAT Math§C9
520–610
25TH–75TH
ACT 25–75§C9
20–26
89% SUB
§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
SCORECARD
$42,617
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
SCORECARD
55%
6-year completion
Average net price
SCORECARD
$12,366
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
SCORECARD
$20,500
federal loans only
Nonpayment
FSA
13%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate

Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.

The numbers, as published

§ This report513numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:Yuchen
Last Name:Zhou
Title:Research Analyst
Office:Institutional Effectiveness
Phone:870-972-3027
Email Address:asuirp@astate.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.astate.edu/a/irp/
Address Information
Main Phone Number:(870) 972-2100
WWW Home Page Address:www.astate.edu
Admissions Office
Admissions Phone Number:(870) 972-3024 (admissions) or (870) 972-2782 (recruitment)
Admissions Email Address:admissions@astate.edu or recruitment@astate.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://ssb-prod.ec.astate.edu/PROD/bwskalog.P_DispLoginNon
Degrees Offered
CertificateX
AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX

Enrollment And Persistence

6 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking497728Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking138159Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking15382295Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seeking21733182Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduates814Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking3145Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seeking6084Not reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking5241383Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seeking6151512Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduates610Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported8241
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seeking132182Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking115222Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduates00Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduates247404Not reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seeking337908Not reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking7771921Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduates523Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduates11192852Not reportedNot reported
Total graduate students13663256Not reported4622
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time students24383614Not reportedNot reported
Total part-time students20544757Not reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported12863
All
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents104382402
Hispanic/Latino61332364
Black or African American, non-Hispanic13610481074
White, non-Hispanic90853195922
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic22125
Asian, non-Hispanic1076100
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic157
Two or more races, non-Hispanic62241272
Race and/or ethnicity unknown175875
Total130174828241
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma117
Associate degrees629
Bachelor's degrees1785
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degrees1850
Post-master's certificates615
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship19
Doctoral degrees, professional practice69
Doctoral degrees, other0
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort6941646611519
Did not persist1001
Final cohort6931646611518
Completed in less than four years19165316572
Completed in less than five years771764158
Completed in less than six years2642757
Total completers29486407787
Six-year graduation rate42.4%52.4%61.6%52.0%
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort7671956841646
Did not persist1001
Final cohort7661956841645
Completed in less than four years21268329609
Completed in less than five years822382187
Completed in less than six years2172351
Total completers31598434847
Six-year graduation rate41.1%50.2%63.5%51.0%
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate74.7%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied23173518Not reported5,835
Admitted13882305Not reported3,693
Enrolled497728Not reported1,225
Enrolled full-timeNot reported728Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time3145Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units14
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Social studies1
History2
Foreign language2
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes———
Class rankYes———
Academic GPAYes———
Standardized test scoresYes———
Application essayYes———
RecommendationsYes———
InterviewNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Extracurricular activitiesYes———
Talent or abilityYes———
Character and personal qualitiesYes———
First generationYes———
Alumni relationYes———
Geographical residenceYes———
State residencyYes———
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes———
Volunteer workYes———
Work experienceYes———
Level of applicant interestYes———
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT2.532
ACT89.31162
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite1010Not reported1170
SAT evidence-based reading and writing500Not reported590
SAT math520Not reported610
ACT composite20Not reported26
ACT math18Not reported25
ACT English21Not reported28
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8004
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69916
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59964
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49916
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8000
SAT Math: 600-69929.6
SAT Math: 500-59955.5
SAT Math: 400-49914.8
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16000
SAT Composite: 1200-139918.8
SAT Composite: 1000-119959.4
SAT Composite: 800-99921.9
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-367.8
ACT Composite: 24-2934.9
ACT Composite: 18-2349.1
ACT Composite: 12-178.1
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.027.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9923.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4912.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.249.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.996.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491.8
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.66
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:30
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:100
If yes, maximum period of postponement:Click or tap here to enter text.

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied7661867Not reported2633
Admitted4561040Not reported1496
Enrolled250502Not reported752
Application for Admission
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants: Click or tap here to enter text.

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Accelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Required Course Work
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)13%
Percent of males who join fraternities4%
Percent of females who join sororities8%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing66%
Percent who live off campus or commute34%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)17%
Percent of males who join fraternities19%
Percent of females who join sororities23%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing31%
Percent who live off campus or commute69%
Percent of students age 25 and older21%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18.2
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.3
Average age of full-time students20.6
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)23.1
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Housing
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX

Annual Expenses

4 TABLES
Public Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
TuitionNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-district52325232
Tuition: in-state52325232
Tuition: out-of-state1080010800
Tuition: nonresident1080010800
Required fees18981898
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses
Estimated Expenses
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
G5 estimated expenses. Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
MeasureResidentsCommuters living at homeCommuters not living at home
Books and supplies125012501250
Food onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Housing onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation463348785753
Other expenses463348785753
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
In-district:$218
In-state (out-of-district):$218
Out-of-state:$450

Financial Aid

7 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients263114347
Average institutional non-need grant4107102295597
Athletic grant recipients271118958
Average athletic grant7790.713408.55745.3
Reporting Year
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$15,260,642
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$845,682
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$16,106,324
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$11,328,197
Federal Work-Study$590,462
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$11,918,659
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$3,764
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$11,503,495
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$17,636,005
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,093,828
Total Scholarships/Grants$30,237,092
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$16,671,223
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$16,671,223
Parent Loans$3,183,012
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$7,112,882
Athletic Awards$4,163,338
Students Awarded Aid
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2 students awarded aid. Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Degree-seeking undergraduates123658141927
Applied for need-based aid119748821422
Determined to have financial need88938091262
Awarded any aid88837831161
Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid6132396790
Awarded need-based self-help aid5932198860
Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid7752786198
Need fully met77132481153
Average percentage of need metNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Average financial aid package9797Not reported
Average need-based scholarship or grantNot reportedNot reported4165
Average need-based self-help awardNot reportedNot reported3855
Average need-based loanNot reported3098Not reported
Source Type Loan
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
H5 student loans. Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
MeasureNumber in classPercent of classAverage per borrower
Any loan program6316026227
Federal loan programs6215924932
Institutional loan programs000
State loan programs000
Private student loans676.415919
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details: Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☒ Yes ☐ No Common Data Set 2021-2022

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

3 TABLES
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty512169681
Members of minority groups11234146
Females273109382
Males23960299
Nonresidents16521
Doctorate or other terminal degree3540354
Master's, but not terminal master's1400140
Bachelor's degree16162178
Unknown or other highest degree279
Stand-alone graduate/professional programs603494
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio14
based on ____ students8,034
and ____ faculty568
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 students39193
10-19 students39193
20-29 students426Not reported
30-39 students2675
40-49 students1155
50-99 students292
100+ students31Not reported
Total8Not reported

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

2 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reported5.2%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported0.7%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication/journalism74.4%Not reported5.5%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.3%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported7.8%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported3.3%
Engineering technologies0.5%Not reported0.6%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics5.1%Not reported0.3%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported1.0%
Liberal arts/general studies72.8%Not reported11.3%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.9%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported0.7%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported5.2%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.1%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.7%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Psychology11.1%Not reported4.5%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported0.7%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported2.4%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported6.5%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing arts0.9%Not reported2.8%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
HistoryNot reportedNot reported0.7%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
TotalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source Document

Building something with this data? Use the free API.