Arkansas State University

2016-17

The 2016-17 Common Data Set for Arkansas State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 9, 2017. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2016-17 template isn't published yet.

First-year admissions & retention§C1 · §B22 →
Retention§B22
74.9%
Full-time 1st-yr
Enrolled score bands (25th–75th percentile)§C9 →
SAT Math§C9
500–620
25TH–75TH
ACT 25–75§C9
21–26
91% SUB
§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
SCORECARD
$42,617
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
SCORECARD
55%
6-year completion
Average net price
SCORECARD
$12,366
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
SCORECARD
$20,500
federal loans only
Nonpayment
FSA
13%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate

Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.

The numbers, as published

§ This report247numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:Dr.
Last Name:Mihir
Title:Assistant Vice Chancellor
Office:Institutional Effectiveness
Phone:870/972-3027
Email Address:asuirp@astate.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
Address Information
Main Phone Number:(870) 972-2100
WWW Home Page Address:www.astate.edu
Admissions Office
Admissions Phone Number:(870) 972-3024 (admissions) or (870) 972-2782 (recruitment)
Admissions Email Address:admissions@astate.edu or recruitment@astate.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://asups1.astate.edu:4443/prod/bwskalog.P_DispLoginNon
Degrees Offered
CertificateX
AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX

Enrollment And Persistence

4 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking734875Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking259188Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking22052987Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported9839
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported4246
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total part-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported14085
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents124531564
Hispanic/Latino56233260
Black or African American, non-Hispanic18712391256
White, non-Hispanic120867607368
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic72728
Asian, non-Hispanic147483
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic057
Two or more races, non-Hispanic37192200
Race and/or ethnicity unknown116773
Total164491289839
Graduation Rates
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort201212
Did not persist1213
Final cohort201214
Completed program in less than two years15Not reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% time16Not reported
Completed program in less than four years17Not reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time18Not reported
Transfers out19Not reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate74.9%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

4 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
AppliedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
AdmittedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnrolledNot reportedNot reportedNot reported9
Enrolled full-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled2,015
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled2,016
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled74
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units14
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Social studies1
History2
Foreign language2
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT1.220
ACT91.31501
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT math500Not reported620
ACT composite21Not reported26
ACT math20Not reported26
ACT English21Not reported27
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.48
Admission Policies
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Amount of application fee:15
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:100
Refundable if student does not enroll?X
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:_______
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes

Transfer Admission

3 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied7431362Not reported2105
Admitted489855Not reported1344
Enrolled336538Not reported874
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:___________________________________________________________________________________________ ___________________________________________________________________________________________ Common Data Set 2016-2017
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:16
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:32

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Accelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Required Course Work
Arts/fine artsX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)13%
Percent of males who join fraternities20%
Percent of females who join sororities25%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing71%
Percent who live off campus or commute29%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)11%
Percent of males who join fraternities5%
Percent of females who join sororities5%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing29%
Percent who live off campus or commute71%
Percent of students age 25 and older19%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18.2
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.3
Average age of full-time students21.2
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22.6
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Housing
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX

Annual Expenses

6 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.astate.edu/a/finaid/tuitionfees/net-price-calculator/index.dot
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition1282012820
Tuition: in-district60606060
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required fees21402140
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
Public Tuition
All Institutions Expenses
Estimated Expenses
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
G5 estimated expenses. Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
MeasureResidentsCommuters living at homeCommuters not living at home
Books and supplies113711371137
Food onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Housing onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation413141314131
Other expenses413141314131
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
In-district:$202
In-state (out-of-district):$404

Financial Aid

2 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2016-2017 estimated
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.800

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

2 TABLES
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18
based on ____ students10,069
and ____ faculty555
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 studentsNot reported54
10-19 studentsNot reported54
20-29 studentsNot reported50
30-39 studentsNot reported26
40-49 studentsNot reported36
50-99 studentsNot reported7
100+ studentsNot reported7
TotalNot reportedNot reported

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

2 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
Agriculture5.3%Not reported1%
Natural resources and conservation0.2%Not reported3%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reported4%
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported5%
Communication/journalism4.6%Not reported9%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.0%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported15.1%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported2.1%
Engineering technologies1.0%Not reported1.1%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported0.8%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported1.5%
Liberal arts/general studies69.7%Not reported11.8%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.7%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported0.8%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported5.2%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.2%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.0%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported4.3%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported1.8%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported5.4%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported2.2%
Health professions and related programs28.1%Not reported14.0%
Business/marketing0.4%Not reported15.6%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported0.7%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
TotalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Bachelors

Source Document

Building something with this data? Use the free API.