University of Kansas
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for University of Kansas — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Oct 2, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$61,945
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
69%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$18,059
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$21,000
federal loans only
FSA
10%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
136numbers from this report.
General Information
1 TABLEAdmissions Phone Number (Area Code):785
Admissions Phone Number:864-3911
Admissions Email Address:adm@ku.edu
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2082 | 2832 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 6724 | 7613 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 9281 | 10919 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 157 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 576 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 3374 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 30 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 294 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 343 | 1304 | 1349 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 5040 | 21880 | 22544 |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 87% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 9,704 | 12,483 | Not reported | 22,187 |
| Admitted | 8,849 | 11,692 | Not reported | 20,541 |
| Enrolled | 2,121 | 2,919 | Not reported | 5,040 |
| Enrolled full-time | 2,082 | 2,832 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 39 | 87 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied7,479
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted7,037
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled2,929
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied14,011
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted12,847
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled1,954
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied697
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted657
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled157
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language2
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 7.1 | 358 |
| ACT | 50.7 | 2556 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1080 | 1170 | 1280 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 550 | 600 | 650 |
| SAT math | 520 | 580 | 640 |
| ACT composite | 20 | 24 | 28 |
| ACT math | 18 | 23 | 27 |
| ACT English | 19 | 23 | 27 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Amount of application fee:40
Priority Date: Month8
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:_One year_
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1083 | Not reported | Not reported | 2337 |
| Admitted | 957 | Not reported | Not reported | 1973 |
| Enrolled | 564 | Not reported | Not reported | 1158 |
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.50
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:CDS
Fall Closing Date: Month1
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)39%
Percent of males who join fraternities13%
Percent of females who join sororities36%
Percent who live off campus or commute29%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)35%
Percent of males who join fraternities14%
Percent of females who join sororities28%
Percent who live off campus or commute75%
Percent of students age 25 and older6%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)21
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://admissions.ku.edu/afford
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 2410 | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
5 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 2410 | 7853 | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 68 | 306 | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Federal$30,733,146
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$47,895,758
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,842,781
Total Scholarships/Grants$90,551,859
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$36,235,465
Federal Work-Study$794,243
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$108,445
Total Self-Help$37,138,154
Parent Loans$17,285,805
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,560,741
Athletic Awards$1,274,765
Federal$3,772
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$73,200,687
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,073,048
Total Scholarships/Grants$77,674,665
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$38,216,430
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$137,650
Total Self-Help$38,354,080
Parent Loans$44,102,248
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$7,295,713
Athletic Awards$7,961,961
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.3,020
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:The University of Kansas offers 4 year renewable scholarships to first-time freshmen and 2 year renewable scholarships to transfer students. These are merit-based scholarships awarded based on students’ high school GPA for first-time freshmen and transfer GPA for transfer students. More information is available at https://admissions.ku.edu/afford/scholarships. 5 G:\KU FACTBOOK\CDS COMMON DATA SET\2025-2026\H.PDF Common Data Set Section H. Financial Aid Final - Academic Year 2025 University of Kansas October 2025 1. Do all undergraduate students who have need get some form of financial aid? Yes If they apply for aid, are deemed eligible, and accept the aid offered. 2. Average amount undergraduate students earned during 2024-25 for part-time on-campus work: $5,300 (Students earned on average $12.65 per hour while working eight hours a week). For further financial aid information contact the following offices: Financial Aid & Scholarships Office of Admissions 1502 Building Jayhawk Welcome Center 1502 Iowa St. 1266 Oread Ave. Lawrence, Kansas 66045-7576 Lawrence, Kansas 66045-3100 Director: Angela Karlin Director: Lisa Pinamonti Kress E-mail: financialaid@ku.edu E-mail: adm@ku.edu Website: https://financialaid.ku.edu/ Website: https://admissions.ku.edu/ Phone: 785-864-4700 Phone: 785-864-3911 Net Price Calculator: https://ku.studentaidcalculator.com Sources: Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships; Analytics, Institutional Research , & Effectiveness 6 G:\KU FACTBOOK\CDS COMMON DATA SET\2025-2026\H.PDF Common Data Set Section I 1. Instructional Faculty and Class Size 2025-20 26 University of Kansas March 2026 CDS I1. Report the number of instructional faculty , including lecturers, in each category for Fall 2025. Faculty definition excludes graduate teaching assistants, academic staff, librarians, and administrators. Full-time Part-time Total Total number of instructional faculty 1,467 362 1,829 Total number of minority faculty 367 70 437 Total number of women faculty 621 190 811 Total number of men faculty 846 172 1,018 Total number who are nonresident (International) 82 5 87 Total number with doctorate or other terminal degree 1,367 175 1,542 Total number whose highest degree is a master’s, but not a terminal degree 86 157 243 Total number whose highest degree is a bachelor’s 14 30 44 Total number whose highest degree is unknown 0 0 0 Total number in stand-alone graduate/professional programs where faculty teach only graduate-level students CDS I2. Fall 2025 student to faculty ratio is 18.1 to 1 (based on 25,845 FTE students and 1,430 FTE faculty) G:\KU FACTBOOK\CDS COMMON DATA SET\2025-2026\I1.PDF 1 Common Data Set Section I 2. Instructional Faculty and Class Size 2025-2026 University of Kansas October 2025 CDS I3. Fall 2025 undergraduate class section size: Note: Counts below exclude distance education class sections (online and hybrid online class sections) Section Size 2-9 10-19 20-29 30-39 40-49 50-99 100+ Total 175 548 532 171 106 201 142 1,875 Organized class sections Lab and discussion subsections 40 249 50 11 3 9 0 362 215 797 582 182 109 210 142 2,237 Total all sections Additional Information 1. Median undergraduate class section size: 20 2. Percent of all undergraduate class sections taught by faculty : 81% 3. Percent of all undergraduate class sections taught by graduate teaching assistants: 19% 4. Undergraduate class sections with less than 30 students: 71% 5. Undergraduate class sections with less than 50 students: 84% Source: Analytics, Institutional Research, & Effectiveness 1 G:\KU FACTBOOK\CDS COMMON DATA SET\2025-2026\I 2.PDF Common Data Set Section J. Degrees Conferred 2025-20 26 University of Kansas October 2025 CDS J1. Bachelors degrees conferred between July 1, 2024 and June 30, 2025. NCES CIP Category Bachelors Percent Code Levels Degrees of Total 01 Agriculture, agriculture operations, related sciences Not applic able 0% 03 Natural resources and conservation 61 1% 04 Architecture and related services * 101 2% 05 Area, ethnic, cultural, gender and group studies 12 0% 09 Communication, journalism, and related programs 294 7% 10 Comm. technologies/technicians, support services Not applic able 0% 11 Computer and information sciences, support services 198 5% 12 Personal and culinary services Not applic abl e 0% 13 Education 118 3% 14 Engineering 345 8% 15 Engineering technologies and related fields Not applic able 0% 16 Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics 61 1% 19 Family and consumer sciences/human sciences Not applic able 0% 22 Legal professions (JD degree, no bachelors degree) 4 0% 23 English language and literature/letters 61 1% 24 Liberal arts and sciences, general studies, humanities 102 2% 25 Library science Not applic able 0% 26 Biological and biom edic al sc ienc es 217 5% 27 Mathematics and statistics 31 1% 28 & 29 Military science and m ilitary technologies Not applic abl e 0% 30 Multi/interdisciplinary studies 184 4% 31 Parks, recreation, leisure, fitness studies 269 6% 38 Philosophy and religious studies 24 1% 39 Theology and religious vocations Not applic abl e 0% 40 Physical sciences 60 1% 41 Science technologies/technicians Not applic able 0% 42 Psychology 324 8% 43 Homeland security, law enforcement, firefighting 6 0% 44 Public administration, social service professions 63 2% 45 Social sciences 190 5% 46 Construction trades Not applic able 0% 47 Mechanic and repair technologies Not applic abl e 0% 48 Precision production Not applic able 0% 49 Transportation and materials moving Not applic able 0% 50 Visual and performing arts 213 5% 51 Health professions and related programs ** 416 10% 52 Business, management, marketing, support services 915 21% 54 Hi s to ry 39 1% TOTAL 4,308 100% * In FY 2022- 23 Architecture began conferring a bachelors (BA) degree to students in the five- year Master of Architecture (M.Arch) degree program after they have completed 136 credit hours and fulfilled the KU Core requirements. ** I n FY 2012- 13 Pharmacy began conferring a bachelors (BS) degree; most students continue on to earn the professional PharmD degree. Not A pplicable - KU does not of fer pr ograms i n t hese categories . Source: IPEDS Completions, First Major. G:\K U FACTBOOK\C DS COMMON DATA SET\2 025-2 026\J .PDF
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEI3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 175 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 548 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 532 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 171 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 106 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 201 | Not reported |
| Total | 142 | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.