Seattle University
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for Seattle University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$75,272
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
76%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$34,662
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,883
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
171numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Quarter
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 4700 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2499 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7199 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 33 | 521 | 522 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 119 | 38 | 38 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 26 | 149 | 150 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 391 | 1875 | 1886 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 14 | 14 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 211 | 847 | 849 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 10 | 38 | 38 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 104 | 401 | 401 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 34 | 257 | 257 |
| Total | 930 | 4685 | 4700 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1204 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 190 |
| Master's degrees | 833 |
| Post-master's certificates | 8 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2015 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2015 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2705 | 5263 | Not reported | 7,968 |
| Admitted | 2129 | 4124 | Not reported | 6,253 |
| Enrolled | 356 | Not reported | Not reported | 356 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
History1
Academic electives2
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
History1
Academic electives2
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | Yes | — |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | Yes | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 37 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1160 | 1320 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 580 | 660 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 570 | 670 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 24 | 30 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 23 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 23 | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent who had GPA of 4.017.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9928.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7425.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4916.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.249.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.993.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Transfer Admission
1 TABLEMaximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:90
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:course
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2019-2020 E. ACADEM I C O F F ERI NG S AND PO L I CI ES E1 Special study options: Identify those programs available at your institution. Refer to the glossary for definitions. E1 Accelerated program E1 Cooperative education program E1 Cross-registration X E1 Distance learning X E1 Double major X E1 Dual enrollment E1 English as a Second Language (ESL) E1 Exchange student program (domestic) E1 External degree program E1 Honors Program X E1 Independent study X E1 Internships X E1 Liberal arts/career combination X E1 Student-designed major X E1 Study abroad X E1 Teacher certification program X E1 Weekend college E1 Other (specify): E2 This question has been removed from the Common Data Set. E3 Areas in which all or most students are required to complete some course work prior to graduation: E3 Arts/fine arts X E3 Computer literacy E3 English (including composition) X E3 Foreign languages E3 History X E3 Humanities X E3 Mathematics X E3 Philosophy X E3 Sciences (biological or physical) X E3 Social science X E3 Other (describe):
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)63%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing93%
Percent who live off campus or commute7%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)59%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing51%
Percent who live off campus or commute49%
Percent of students age 25 and older9%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEMinimum2
Financial Aid
6 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$28,053
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$21,432
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,321,980
Total Scholarships/Grants$84,827,339
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$13,812,156
Federal Work-Study$2,012,527
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,868,089
Total Self-Help$17,692,772
Parent Loans$3,559,293
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$367,764
Federal$5,563,970
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$23,591
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$751,173
Total Scholarships/Grants$23,241,361
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$8,488,569
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$8,488,569
Parent Loans$6,167,239
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.770
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:522
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 24 Common Data Set 2019-2020 I. INST RUCT IONAL F ACUL T Y AND CL ASS SIZ E Please report the number of instructional faculty members in each category for Fall 2019. Include faculty who are on your institution’s payroll on the census date your institution uses for IPEDS/AAUP. I1 The following definition of full-time instructional faculty is used by the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) in its annual Faculty Compensation Survey (the part time definitions are not used by AAUP). Instructional Faculty is defined as those members of the instructional-research staff whose major regular assignment is instruction, including those with released time for research. Use the chart below to determine inclusions and exclusions: Full-time (a) instructional faculty in preclinical and clinical medicine, faculty who are not paid (e.g., Exclude those who donate their services or are in the military), or research-only faculty, post- doctoral fellows, or pre-doctoral fellows (b) administrative officers with titles such as dean of students, librarian, registrar, coach, Exclude and the like, even though they may devote part of their time to classroom instruction and may have faculty status (c) other administrators/staff who teach one or more non-clinical credit courses even though Exclude they do not have faculty status (d) undergraduate or graduate students who assist in the instruction of courses, but have Exclude titles such as teaching assistant, teaching fellow, and the like (e) faculty on sabbatical or leave with pay Include (f) faculty on leave without pay Exclude (g) replacement faculty for faculty on sabbatical leave or leave with pay Exclude Full-time instructional faculty: faculty employed on a full-time basis for instruction (including those with released time for research) Part-time instructional faculty: Adjuncts and other instructors being paid solely for part-time classroom instruction. Also includes full-time faculty teaching less than two semesters, three quarters, two trimesters, or two four-month sessions. Employees who are not considered full-time instructional faculty but who teach one or more non-clinical credit courses may be counted as part-time faculty. Minority faculty: includes faculty who designate themselves as Black, non-Hispanic; American Indian or Alaska Native; Asian, Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, or Hispanic. Doctorate: includes such degrees as Doctor of Philosophy, Doctor of Education, Doctor of Juridical Science, and Doctor of Public Health in any field such as arts, sciences, education, engineering, business, and public administration. Also includes terminal degrees formerly designated as “first professional,” including dentistry (DDS or DMD), medicine (MD), optometry (OD), osteopathic medicine (DO), pharmacy (DPharm or BPharm), podiatric medicine (DPM), veterinary medicine (DVM), chiropractic (DC or DCM), or law (JD). Terminal degree: the highest degree in a field: example, M. Arch (architecture) and MFA (master of fine arts). I1 Full-Time Part-Time I1 a) Total number of instructional faculty 522 238 I1 b) Total number who are members of minority groups 128 53 I1 c) Total number who are women 279 130 I1 d) Total number who are men 240 105 I1 e) Total number who are nonresident aliens (international)
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio11
based on ____ students2,019
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.